The self-appointed government of Homs in 1918

Views: 20067

Image Source:

The government body was created by the city's notables when the Ottoman Turks evacuated from Homs after World War I in 1918. The declaration was sent to the Arab Government that took over Syria, headed by King Faisal I. The temporary Homs government included: Taher al-Atasi, Alaa al-Din Droubi (the future prime minister of Syria), Wasfi al-Atasi, Husni al-Jundi, Rafiq al-Husseini, Rafiq Raslan, Priest Issa al-As'ad, Saleem Khatan, Antoun Tarabulsi.